Casper & the Cookies(feat. ex-Of Montreal member) @ the Spazz last night

I never got into Of Montreal too much, I think mostly because everybody else was so much up their ass when Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer? came out… sometimes I just resist the big hype at the moment, other times I’m all about it. But they are great, and ‘The Past is Grotesque Animal’ did build on me, slowly, like the song itself. And just a snippet of the disco pulse of ‘Gronlandic Edit’ will immediately ingrain itself in your brain(& move yr butt).

(I figured I’d just post youtube videos of these, since I notice that most of the views of my blog don’t click the links to the other videos or downloads, and most anyone already familiar with Of Montreal probably already have these.)

(Criminally, youtube cuts off the last minute of this song’s epic 11 minutes…)->

So when I heard another ex-member of Of Montreal is playing through here at the Spazz, it catches my attention, but I’m not necessarily dying to see it right off the bat(Andy from Denver played through here with Keith John Adams months & months ago, and I believe he was ex-Of Montreal).

But Casper & the Cookies(w/ ex-Of Montreal Jason NeSmith) that played here last night, were an awesome surprise. Not that I didn’t think they’d be good, but just didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did. But a few songs into the set during ‘You Love Me,’ it was clear that it was happening at the Spazz last night. How can you not love them with the bassist jumping into the crowd and onto her knees in high top boots & a dress for a wacked-out bass noise/solo, or the guitarist wiggling & dancing along with a lucky someone in the first row? 

Wish you could see that? Well, if you weren’t at the Spazz last night, then you are just shit out of luck(see how I tried to make YOU feel guilty for the fact the I forgot to bring my camera?).

But, you can check out Casper & the Cookies some here. Don’t remember this one from last night, but it reminds me a little of The Mamas & the Papas.

I love the description of this video from the person who posted it(from ‘Casper’ himself?)

“Psychedelic power pop from Athens, GA champs Casper and the Cookies. Two lead vocals and two videos fight it out in a war to over-stimulate your pleasure lobe in under two minutes.”

So, if you liked that one, click a little,  😉 and download ‘You Love Me.’ You’ll probably like it even better.

Casper & the Cookies – You Love Me (mp3)

Check out their myspace to hear more and support them. =>

http://www.myspace.com/casperthecookies

Upcoming shows:

May 15 2009 9:00P
Spazzatorium Greenville, North Carolina
May 17 2009 8:00P
The Cake Shop **NYC Popfest** New York, New York
May 30 2009 10:00P
Caledonia Lounge **CD RELEASE PARTY!!!*** Athens, Georgia
Jun 5 2009 10:00P
Prevue Charlotte, North Carolina
Jun 26 2009 8:00P
Cine **ATHFEST** Athens, Georgia
Jun 26 2009 8:00P
Cine Athens, Georgia
Jul 3 2009 10:00P
Caledonia Lounge Athens, Georgia
Jul 18 2009 10:00P
Brillobox Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Jul 20 2009 8:00P
Middle East Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 21 2009 8:00P
Cake Shop New York, New York
Jul 22 2009 8:00P
Bruar Falls Brooklyn, New York
Jul 23 2009 10:00P
Danger Danger Gallery Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jul 24 2009 8:00P
Solly’s **EARLY SHOW** Washington, Washington DC
Jul 27 2009 8:00P
Twisted Branch Charlottesville, Virginia
Jul 29 2009 10:00P
Caledonia Lounge Athens, Georgia
Aug 5 2009 10:00P
Replay Lounge Lawrence, Kansas
Aug 10 2009 12:00P
Daytrotter Session Rock Island, Illinois
Aug 11 2009 8:00P
The Mill Iowa City, Iowa
Aug 29 2009 8:00P
Caledonia Lounge Athens, Georgia
Sep 10 2009 10:00P
Caledonia Lounge Athens, Georgia

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Casper & the Cookies(feat. ex-Of Montreal member) @ the Spazz last night

  1. Kete

    Man, I wish I saw all of that!

Leave a Reply

